It’s the Final Countdown

Today is a more beautiful Monday than usual because it’s officially NLC week!

Do NOT contain your excitement.

We know you’ve been planning all summer from picking out your outfits, finding friends to drop you off at and pick you up from the airport and reading the agenda highlights. Now’s your chance to check off the final boxes on your NLC prep to-do list!

First, download the Guidebook app and search for “ZTA NLC 2015.” The app puts the NLC schedule, details and more at your fingertips. It’s a must to have in hand during the conference. It will look like the photo to your right.

Then, watch our video to help you prepare for all the logistical things you’ll need to remember for NLC. See you soon, Zetas!

What to Expect at National Officer Academy

National Officers attend NLC to help facilitate sessions, answer questions and serve as great ZTA resources for our collegiate members. However, it is vital for ZTA leaders to learn and network, just like our collegiate sisters. National Officer Academy provides the opportunity to do that.

Not only does NLC deliver programming that will revitalize you for your ZTA position, it is also the perfect opportunity to network and connect with other National Officers. National Officer Academy is a great time to ask questions, bounce ideas off of, or simply enjoy the sisterhood of others serving in your same position all around the country.

Province Presidents, Mentors, Supervisors and Directors of New Chapters will kick it off Tuesday evening. Bring your favorite pad (notepad or iPad) because we’ll be providing tons of the latest information and updates about everything from housing, fundraising, membership and new member programs (just to name a few).

District Presidents will join in for sessions starting Wednesday afternoon. District President Academy will be a GREAT opportunity to get the latest info from National Council, the ZTA Foundation and ZTA Fraternity Housing Corporation; learn more about the GIN system and Zeta Day; and develop as a District President and a leader.

And the best gatherings include food, right? After a long day of learning and absorbing tons of great ZTA information, you can kick back and relax with the National Officer reception, dinner and a special tour of International Office. You’ll have a wonderful time connecting with other alumnae who share your passion for our Fraternity and get revved up for the upcoming conference. We can’t wait to see you soon!

Meet our NLC Speakers

By now, we know you’re super excited about the GREAT things in store for you at NLC. You’re excited to meet zelebrities in person. But who all will be presenting at NLC?

Let’s meet our 2015 NLC speakers!

Marlene Dunbar Conrad (Eta Iota)

Starting us off at NLC is Mrs. Conrad, who will help us define our greatness and learn how we can Strive for Greatness as a Fraternity. She is in her third term as Extension Director on National Council. Under her leadership, ZTA has reactivated six chapters, installed nine new chapters and reorganized two chapters. Mrs. Conrad has previously served as a Director of New Chapters and Province President. She received her degree in political science from Valdosta State University and owns a meeting planning business.

Kelley Snow Harmon (Theta Theta)

Ms. Harmon will challenge us to look at our chapter reality head-on and “Dare to Look Deeper.” As Executive Director, Ms. Harmon leads the International Office staff in day-to-day operations. She is also responsible for collaboration with the National Council, Fraternity House Corporation and ZTA Foundation in carrying out the objectives of the Fraternity. Ms. Harmon previously served as Assistant Executive Director and Vice President Collegiate III. Ms. Harmon holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and marketing from Arkansas Tech University.

Gert Garman

With her unique background at Disney Destinations, Ms. Garman is the perfect person to show us how to tap into our creativity with her session “Explore. Dream. Discover.” She is the Director of the Collaborative Design Center at Valencia College. Previously, she was the Creativity and Innovation Catalyst for Disney Destinations, where she facilitated brainstorming sessions and trained fellow Cast Members in Disney’s Innovation Toy Box for the Disney Parks and Resorts worldwide. She graduated from University of Central Florida with a bachelor’s degree in journalism: advertising/ public relations.

Malaea Nelms Seleski (Eta Rho)

Mrs. Seleski will help you “Focus Your Answers” by helping you weigh your creative options to find the best solutions for your chapter’s challenges. Before becoming NPC Alternate Delegate in 2010, Mrs. Seleski served ZTA as the NPC Delegate. She is also a full-time Associate Account Executive for Managed Markets with Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals where she works as a sales consultant to large hospital systems, accountable care organizations and physician groups in South Florida. She earned a bachelor’s degree in public relations and marketing and her master’s degree in counseling from The University of North Alabama.

Lynn Compton Chapman (Alpha Nu)

Greatness begins with your first step. Mrs. Chapman will help you begin the action planning to make it possible in “Time to Take Action.” Mrs. Chapman served ZTA in many roles before being elected to National Council as Vice President Collegiate II in 2012. She was a Province President, Mentor, House Association President and advisor. Mrs. Chapman attended Birmingham-Southern College where she earned her degree in English literature. Her career has been focused in human resources and communications, previously working at Wachovia Bank, Group Interactive Networks and ZTA International Office as the Director of Social Media.

Carolyn Hof Carpenter (Theta Tau)

Wrapping up our time together at NLC, Mrs. Carpenter will inspire you to follow our Founders’ lead and take what you learn back to your chapter in her session “… but the greatest of these is …” Mrs. Carpenter was elected National President in 2014, previously serving as Vice President Alumnae II, District President and on the Extension Team. Mrs. Carpenter earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in journalism with a specialty in public relations from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Her professional career has focused in the health care industry with executive positions in communications, marketing and business development.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

%d bloggers like this: